History Of Georgia Area Codes

1947:  The North American Numbering Plan (NANP) was developed.

November 10, 1951: NANP was first implemented By AT&T.

-At this time Georgia had only one area code, 404 (Now Metro Atlanta).

July 1, 1954: Area code 404 splits into two. 404 Served Northern Georgia and 912 served Southern Georgia.

May 3, 1992: Area code 404 splits into two again. Area code 404 served the city of Atlanta and 706 served the rest of Northern Georgia.

August 1, 1995: Area code 404 splits and serves downtown Atlanta and 770 serves the outskirts of the city.

January 1, 1998: The boundaries between area code 404 and 770 are erased and a new overlay, 678 is implemented.

August 1, 2000: Area code 912 splits into three. Area code 229 serves southwestern Georgia, area code 478 serves nineteen counties in Central Georgia, and 912 serves southeastern Georgia

September 2, 2001: Area code 470 overlays Metro Atlanta (404, 678)

Georgia Area Codes. 1947, 1954, 1992, 1995, 1998, 2000, Today.

These maps were created by me from my best knowledge on the area codes. These my not be accurate. Questions or Comments?

Please email me here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: